The Colour Of Her Skin

NPR has a piece on the Colour Bar:

“”My Dear Mr. Thompson,

I desire at this time to explain why I want to enter the college and why I believe my application should be granted. If denied admission, I must either abandon my ambition, or go elsewhere to obtain the same advantages which could be made available to me at home. My parents are not well-to-do …”

That was the US in the 1950s, yet Britain had such problems long after, as the BBC reminds us of 1966:

“A West Indian refused a job at Euston Station will now be employed there after managers overturned a ban on black workers.

Two months ago Asquith Xavier, a train guard from Dominica, was refused a transfer from Marylebone Station to Euston because of his colour.

The new job would have meant a pay increase of around £10 a week for Mr Xavier who started work for British Railways (BR) as a porter 10 years ago. “

Leave a Reply

